day-1 Day 1 – 02 December 21

16.40 (IST)
12.10 (CET)
Opening Address

– Belema Obuoforibo & Mukesh Butani (5 minutes)

16.45 (IST)
12.15 (CET)
Official Welcome
– Porus Kaka (20 minutes)
17.05 (IST)
12.35 (CET)
Keynote Speech: The International Tax Landscape Over the Past 25 Years – an Indian Perspective
– Hon. Justice A.K. Sikri (20 minutes)
17.25 (IST)
12.55 (CET)
Session 1: Recent Developments in International Tax

Presentation: by Pascal Saint-Amans (20 minutes)
Panel Discussion: Porus Kaka (Chair of the Session)
Pascal Saint-Amans, Shikha Gupta, Rasmi Ranjan Das,
and H. David Rosenbloom (55 minutes)

18.40 (IST)
14.10 (CET)
Session 2: Tax Treaties – Treaty Entitlement and PE Issues

Panel Discussion: Prof. Philip Baker (Chair of the Session)
Dinesh Kanabar, Pramod Kumar, Dr. Amar Mehta, and Dhruv
Sanghavi (75 minutes)
 Principal purpose test – implications for transaction structuring
by MNCs
 Permanent Establishment: recent developments from an Indian
perspective

19.55 (IST)
15.25 (CET)
Concluding Remarks

– Mukesh Butani (5 minutes)

20.00 (IST)
15.30 (CET)
Day Close

day3 Day 2 – 03 December 21

17.00 (IST)
12.30 (CET)
Opening Address

– Belema Obuoforibo (5 minutes)

17.05 (IST)
12.35 (CET)
Keynote Speech: The International Tax Landscape Over the Past 25 years –
a Global Perspective
– Prof. Dr. Stef van Weeghel (20 minutes)
17.25 (IST)
12.55 (CET)
Session 1: Tax treaties – Issues Concerning Cross-border Payments
(Dividends, Software, and FTS)
Panel Discussion: Nishith Desai (Chair of the Session)
Patricia Brown, Na Li, Himanshu Parekh, and Aravind Srivatsan
(75 minutes)
 Beneficial ownership – issues and nuances.
 Software income characterization – developments in India and
elsewhere, including Australia
 Revived significance of Article 10 in the Indian context
 Indian Dividend Distribution Tax (DDT): does the withholding tax
rate in Article 10 apply?
 Fees for Technical Services – latest controversies
18.40 (IST)
14.10 (CET
Session 2: GAAR – Global Experience in Indian Context

Panel Discussion: Mukesh Butani (Chair of the Session)
Sarah Blakelock, Prof. Craig Elliffe, Prof. Judith Freedman, TP Ostwal,
Prof. Dr. Pasquale Pistone, and Rajesh Ramloll (75 minutes)
 GAAR versus the US anti-avoidance doctrines
 Role of judicial GAAR precedents for the interpretation of statutory
GAAR
 Can GAAR apply in the case of tax benefits offered by the domestic
tax law?
 Can the GAAR in the domestic tax law apply in a tax treaty
situation?
 Who bears the burden of proof?

19.55 (IST)

15.25 (CET)

Concluding Remarks
– Mukesh Butani (5 minutes)
20.00 (IST)

15.30 (CET)

Day Close

 Day 3– 04 December 21

17.00 (IST)
12.30 (CET)
Opening Address
– Mukesh Butani (5 minutes)
17.05 (IST)
12.35 (CET)
Session 1: Pillar One – Selected Issues

Panel Discussion: Belema Obuoforibo (Chair of the Session)
Grace Perez Navarro, Rajat Bansal, Mathew Gbonjubola,
and Ridha Hamzaoui (70 minutes)
 The road to implementation – challenges and prospects
 A proposed Multilateral Convention for Amount A – possible
implementation challenges
 Holding out on Pillar 1 – Countries outside the tent – Consequences
for the global tax landscape
 Article 12B of the UN Model Tax Convention – its place in the
emerging global order

18.15 (IST)
13.45 (CET)
Panel Discussion: Ola Ostaszewska (Chair of the Session)
Prof. Dr. Vikram Chand, Akhilesh Ranjan, Gary Sprague, and Parul Jain
(70 minutes)
 Developments so far (in a nutshell) and outcome possibilities
 Global minimum corporate tax rate (15%) – is it a realistic goal?
 Would pillar two developments stabilize international tax systems
and facilitate tax certainty for taxpayers and tax administrations?
 Issues and nuances related to pillar two [e.g.: income inclusion rule
(IIR), switchover rule (SoR), GloBE rules/process, etc.]
 Any other related aspects/issues
19.25 (IST)
14.55 (CET)
Panel Discussion: Kunj Vaidya (Chair of the Session)
Bhaskar Goswami *, Manoj Pardasani, Raffaele Petruzzi, Miller
Williams, and Emily Muyaa (85 minutes)
 Advance Pricing Agreements (APAs): experience in India and
elsewhere.
 Can a foreign associated enterprise (AE) be selected as a tested
party?
 Excess credit period – can it be separated from the main (sale/
service) transaction?
 Turnover filter: experience in India and other jurisdictions. Profit split method: global experience.
20.50 (IST)
16.20 (CET)
– Belema Obuoforibo & Mukesh Butani (5 minutes)
20.55 (IST)
16.25 (CET)
End of Conference